Logo
WATCH ESPORTS MATCHES BET ON THE WINNER & MORE

The International: Dota 2 fans hyped for TI9 opening ceremony

The International 2019 is under way in Shanghai and fans are already looking forward to find out what the TI9 opening ceremony has in store.

The group stage matches started on August 15th with teams aiming to reach the playoffs, playing in front of a live crowd in the Mercedes Benz Arena.

Tickets for TI9 sold out in seconds and scalpers have been selling tickets on resale sites for more than €1,000 each. But for lucky Dota 2 fans who managed to get tickets and even those watching at home on live streams, the opening ceremony is sure to be an unforgettable spectacle.

Gabe-Newell-at-TI8

When is TI9 opening ceremony?

The TI9 opening ceremony will be held on August 20th, 2019, when the The International 2019 playoffs get under way.

The first match of the The International 2019 playoff bracket is due to start at 5am CEST / 4am BST, so we can expect the TI9 opening ceremony to start about an hour earlier - at 4am CEST / 3am BST.

If previous Internationals are anything to go by, the opening ceremony will be a spectacular live performance to delight the thousands watching in the area.

It will also be interesting to see if Gabe Newell makes an appearance in China. It is customary for the Valve boss to open the proceedings by welcoming fans to The International.

Bet on TI9 with Luckbox

You can enjoy a risk-free bet on TI9 with Luckbox. Simply create an account and you'll get $9.99 credited instantly.

lb-TI9-article-CTA-9.99

If you already have an account, you can choose a free Dota 2 item - guaranteed - when you make your next deposit during TI9.

5 EUR
10 EUR
25 EUR
50 EUR
100 EUR
200 EUR
500 EUR
1000 EUR
Done
;