Valve announces Artifact release date and time

Esports news

The release date and time for Valve's eagerly anticipated new game - Artifact - has been confirmed.

Artifact is a card game inspired by Dota 2 - the hugely successful esports title by the same publishers.

The Artifact release date of Wednesday, November 28, 2018 has been known for some time but Valve has since announced a release time, saying it was "aiming" for release between 1pm and 2pm PST.

Artifact is available to pre-purchase and preload from the Steam Store.

Artifact release countdown

Based on a 1pm PST release time, Artifact will be available from:

(Wednesday, November 29)

EST: 4pm
BRST: 7pm
GMT: 9pm and 10pm
CET: 10pm to 11pm

(Thursday, November 29)

EET: Midnight
IST: 2.30am
CST: 5am
AEDT: 8am

Is Artifact free to play?

No, Artifact will not be free to play. In the UK, it will cost €17.95 ($19.99, £15.99) The fact it is not free to play is among the challenges it faces in becoming a major esports, according to card game expert Tom Matthiesen.

Decks appeal

The Steam description of Artifact is as follows: "A collaboration between legendary card game designer Richard Garfield and Valve, Artifact is a digital card game that combines deeply-strategic, competitive gameplay with the rich setting of Dota 2. The result is an immersive and visually-stunning trading card game unlike any other.

"Wield your deck across three lanes of combat, answer every move of your opponent with one of your own. Unlimited hand size. Unlimited number of units you control. Unlimited mana you can employ.

"It’s up to you to decide the best way to navigate the constantly shifting tide of battle.

"If you’ve played card games around a kitchen table, you know the enjoyment that can come with house rules. Artifact allows you and your friends complete control in creating a tournament. Simply select your elimination or non-elimination format and deck constraints; then, challenge your friends to a crucible of your own design.

"Want to test your skill against the world at large? Valve-sponsored gauntlets and tournaments will give players the opportunity to not just play Artifact for the joy of mastery, but to win prizes based upon their level of play."

Artifact system specs

The minimum specs for Artifact are:

Windows

OS: Windows 7 or newer
Processor: Intel i5, 2.4 Ghz or better
Memory: 4 GB RAM
Graphics: Integrated HD Graphics 520 w/128 MB or better
Network: Broadband Internet connection
Storage: 7 GB available space
Sound Card: DirectX Compatible Sound Card

Artifact on Mac

OS: Mac OS 10.13.6 or newer
Processor: Intel i5, 2.4 Ghz or better
Memory: 4 GB RAM
Graphics: Integrated HD Graphics 520 w/128 MB or better
Network: Broadband Internet connection
Storage: 5 GB available space

Linux

OS: Ubuntu 16.04 or newer
Processor: Intel i5, 2.4 Ghz or better
Memory: 4 GB RAM
Graphics: Vulkan-capable GPU from NVIDIA, AMD, or Intel
Network: Broadband Internet connection
Storage: 5 GB available space
Sound Card: OpenAL Compatible Sound Card

James McMathMedia manager at Luckbox.

Related Articles

6 days ago
10 days ago
13 days ago
15 days ago