TI9: Teams and dates for The International 2019

The Dota 2 season is many things to many people, but the one unifying aim or goal the scene shares is the desire to go to The International 2019, which will be held in Shanghai.

Unlike other open circuits, Dota has a points system (DPC) built around performances in Valve-sanctioned events, primarily Minors and Majors, and the Pro Circuit points are starting to shake out and reveal who is going to be applying for a VISA for China for TI9.


TI9 open qualifiers statistical breakdown

The system is a little complex but, fundamentally, comes down to the points threshold to be sure of a place in the big show. With a total of 75,000 points available from Majors, and a further 2,500 on the table at the Minors, it takes a few events before the leaderboard begins to shape up, but with DreamLeague Season 11 close to a conclusion, we are starting to see shapes in the cloudy water.

TI9 will feature 18 Dota 2 teams, 12 of whom will qualify through DPC and another six via regional qualifiers in China, Southeast Asia, North America, South America, CIS and Europe.

Did you know: Apart from great articles, Luckbox also gives you the option to watch live and bet on CSGO, Dota, LOL and, soon, many more games. Sometimes we feel like topping up your account so you can go into action straight away, so keep an eye on our website for promotions. Strictly 18+, and please gamble responsibly. Click here to check all live and upcoming matches

So, when is TI9?

The dates for the open qualifiers and closed qualifers were confirmed on Monday, June 17th, 2019:

  • Open Qualifiers: July 3rd 2019 to July 7th 2019
  • Regional Qualifiers: July 8th 2019 to July 15th 2019
  • Group Stage: August 15th 2019 to August 18th 2019
  • Main event: August 20th 2019 to August 25th 2019

Which teams will be at TI9?

The final DPC event of the 2018-19 season was the EPICENTER Major and the 12 TI9 qualifiers were confirmed after the tournament in Moscow. The teams confirmed at TI9 are:

  1. Virtus.pro
  2. Team Secret
  3. Vici Gaming
  4. Evil Geniuses
  5. PSG.LGD
  6. Fnatic
  7. Team Liquid
  8. OG
  9. Keen Gaming
  10. The Alliance
  11. TNC Predator
  12. Ninjas In Pyjamas
  13. Mineski
  14. Natus Vincere
  15. Infamous
  16. Royal Never Give Up
  17. Chaos Esports Club
  18. Forward Gaming

Regional qualifier

Related: CIS qualifiers schedule

Related: EU Qualfiers Schedule

Related: NA Qualfiers Schedule

Related: Chinese Qualfiers Schedule

The remaining six TI9 qualifying spots are up for grabs via regional qualifiers, with each region having one place in Shanghai available. First up, it's open qualifiers, where successful teams will join direct invites at closed qualifiers. The teams in each region are as follows:

Southeast Asia: Mineski (Qualified), BOOM ID, Team Jinesbrus, Team Adroit, EVOS Esports, 496 Gaming, Team Amplfy, Resurgence
China: EHOME, RNG, Aster, Team Sirius, Invictus Gaming, CDEC Gaming; Team Serenity, Newbee
CIS: Na'Vi (Qualified),Gambit, Na'Vi, Team Spirit, Team Empire, Winstrike, FlyToMoon, Vega Squadron, Nemiga Gaming
Europe: The Final Tribe, Chaos, Epic Name, Anti-MagE-, Hippomaniacs, Bald, six eight two, Team Singularity
North America: J.Storm, Forward, Complexity, Beastcoast, Team Xolotl, Kookaburra, Swaaag, Black Sheep
South America: Infamous (Qualified), PaiN, Team Ham, Thunder Predator, SG e-sports, FURIA Esports, EgoBoys, Gorillaz Pride

Dota Pro Circuit standings

Last update: July 8th, 2019


Check out our Dota 2 podcast

The Luckbox Podcast is a CSGO and Dota-focused podcast featuring Paul "Redeye" Chaloner and Sujoy Roy available on YouTube, Soundcloud, Spotify and Apple Podcasts.