Valve announces Dota 2 Regional Leagues in radical DPC shake-up

Valve has announced a huge restructure of the Dota Pro Circuit (DPC) will take place after the International 2020 with the introduction of Regional Leagues.

Teams will be split into six geographical regions - Europe, China, CIS, South East Asia, North America and South America - and two divisions of eight teams each.

Make your Dota 2 predictions

Watch all the live and upcoming Dota 2 matches via Luckbox and enjoy a $5 free bet when you create an account.

The Dota 2 calendar will be divided into three seasons, with a Major at the end of each.

Valve said the new DPC format was designed to "present competitive Dota in a more scheduled and consistent way during the year and features a better structure for the development of Tier 2 and Tier 3 teams".

The revolution will be televised

Each week will feature three match days, with Upper Division matches presented from studio broadcasts and Lower Division matches featured on DotaTV.

Each season will be six weeks, with a prize pool of $280,000.

There will be promotion and relegation between the divisions for two teams, while the bottom two teams in the Lower Division will be replaced by teams via Open Qualifiers.

For the first season, Valve will allocate the initial teams to the Upper and Lower divisions.

In the official announcement, Valve said teams will also have to declare the region they choose to participate in (and be eligible for that region) before the season starts.

Remaining slots will be filled through qualifiers after The International 2020.